Sookie Stackhouse Series

May 1, 2001 saw the release of Dead Until Dark, the first novel by Charlaine Harris to feature the character Sookie Stackhouse.

This was the first story in what would go on to become a New York Times bestselling series and would inspire the TV show True Blood.

The Sookie Stackhouse series (also known as the Southern Vampire series) went on to include 13 full-length novels, many short stories featuring Sookie and other characters from the series, several other books and even a video game!

To make sure that you don’t miss out on a single story from the world of Sookie, on this page we’ve produced a complete list of books in the Sookie Stackhouse series in order.

In fact, there are three lists – the first contains all of the full-length novels in chronological order, the second contains all of the short stories and other books featuring the main character, while the third list contains all of the books featuring characters from the series but not Sookie herself.

If you’d like to see how these fit in with all of her other releases, be sure to check out our list of Charlaine Harris books in order by publication date.

Sookie Stackhouse Series In Order

Full-Length Novels

  1. Dead Until Dark
  2. Living Dead In Dallas
  3. Club Dead
  4. Dead To The World
  5. Dead As A Doornail
  6. Definitely Dead
  7. All Together Dead
  8. From Dead To Worse
  9. Dead And Gone
  10. Dead In The Family
  11. Dead Reckoning
  12. Deadlocked
  13. Dead Ever After

Other Sookie Stories

  1. Fairy Dust
  2. One Word Answer
  3. Dracula Night
  4. Gift Wrap
  5. Lucky
  6. Two Blondes
  7. If I Had A Hammer
  8. Small-Town Wedding
  9. The Sookie Stackhouse Companion
  10. Playing Possum
  11. After Dead
  12. In The Blue Hereafter
  13. Dead But Not Forgotten
  14. The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories

Non-Sookie Stories

  1. Tacky
  2. Bacon
  3. The Britlingens Go To Hell
  4. Dahlia Underground
  5. A Very Vampire Christmas
  6. Dying For Daylight (Video Game)
  7. Death By Dahlia

You can also get this box set containing the first eight books in the series: